Enable Javascript in your browser for an improved experience of regjeringen.no

Prime Minister congratulates Abiy Ahmed on Nobel Peace Prize

‘The Norwegian Nobel Committee today announced that it has awarded the Peace Prize for 2019 to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali. On behalf of the Norwegian Government, I would like to congratulate Prime Minister Abiy,’ said Prime Minister Erna Solberg.

‘Abiy Ahmed has shown great courage by initiating a process of reconciliation after many years of conflict. He has brought hope, even though much work remains to be done,’ Ms Solberg said.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee selects the Nobel Peace Prize laureates and gives grounds for its choice. The committee is independent of both the Storting (Norwegian parliament) and the Norwegian Government.

Go to the top