Enable Javascript in your browser for an improved experience of regjeringen.no

The Troika Urges the South Sudanese Parties to Form the Transitional Government

This content is more than 4 years old. The information may therefore be out of date.

The Members of the Troika (United States, United Kingdom, and Norway) express their deep concern at delays in forming the Transitional Government of National Unity, which was due to be completed today.

Advancing implementation of the peace agreement, reviving the economy, and implementing critical reforms depend on the formation of the transitional government.  The Presidential Decree establishing 28 states has created an obstacle to consensus. We urge all parties to make immediate efforts to resolve this impasse and to form the transitional government as soon as possible.  It is time for leaders on all sides to put aside partisan bickering and prioritize the interests of the South Sudanese people.