Enable Javascript in your browser for an improved experience of regjeringen.no

About the Ministry

The Ministry is currently responsible for matters relating to housing and building policy, local government finances, ICT Policy and Public Sector Reform, rural and regional policy, local administration, the conduct of elections, government employer policy, central governments buildings, security and administrative services, government services and communication, Sami and minority affairs, management tasks under the Planning and Building Act relating to urban development, municipal land-use planning, environmental impact analyses and county planning, and national mapping and geodata policy.

The Ministry’s political leadership consists of the minister and five state secretaries. The minister has a political adviser. The most senior official in the Ministry is the secretary general, who assists and advises the minister and coordinates the work of the Ministry, which has 425 employees. In short, the Ministry functions as the minister’s staff. 

Go to the top