Enable Javascript in your browser for an improved experience of regjeringen.no

History of the Ministry of Culture

The Ministry of Culture was established in 1982 under the name Ministry of Culture and Science. Prior to that date, the Ministry of Church and Education bore national responsibility for Norwegian cultural affairs. Since then, the Ministry’s name and responsibilities have changed several times.

Today, the Ministry of Culture is responsible for cultural, copyright and media affairs (film, broadcasting and the press), equality and social inclusion, voluntary-sector, sports, gaming and lotteries. Several other ministries also deal with cultural matters.


Ministry of Culture (KUD) 2010– 
Ministry of Culture and Church Affairs (KKD) 2002–2010
Ministry of Cultural Affairs (KD) 1991–2002
Ministry of Church and Culture (KD) 1990–1991 
Ministry of Culture and Science (KD) 1982–1990


Abid Q. Raja 24 January 2020-

Trine Skei Grande 17 January 2018–24 January 2020
Linda Cathrine Hofstad Helleland 16 December 2015–17 January 2018
Thorhild Widvey 16 October 2013–16 December 2015
Hadia Tajik 21 September 2012–16 October 2013 
Anniken Huitfeldt 20 October 2009–21 September 2012
Trond Giske 17 October 2005–20 October 2009 
Valgerd Svarstad Haugland 19 October 2001–17 October 2005
Ellen Horn 17 March 2000–19 October 2001
Åslaug Marie Haga 8 October 1999–17 March 2000
Anne Enger Lahnstein 17 October 1997–8 October 1999
Turid Birkeland 25 October 1996–17 October 1997
Åse Kleveland 3 November 1990–25 October 1996
Eleonore Bjartveit 16 October 1989–3 November 1990
Hallvard Bakke 9 May 1986–16 October 1989
Lars Roar Langslet 14 October 1981–9 May 1986

The Ministry currently has the following specialist departments:

  • Department of Administrative Affairs
  • Department for Equality, Non-discrimination and International Affairs
  • Department of Civil Society and Sports
  • Department of Cultural Heritage
  • Department of Media and the Arts
Go to the top