Historical archive

Norwegian citizens may face new measures when entering other countries

Historical archive

Published under: Solberg's Government

Publisher: Ministry of Foreign Affairs

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs wishes to make Norwegian citizens aware of the fact that certain countries are introducing measures and/or restrictions for people entering their countries. This will affect Norwegian citizens or others travelling to these countries from Norway. Norwegian citizens who are currently travelling, or who are considering travelling, are therefore urged to familiarise themselves with the rules for entry into the country or countries concerned.

The situation is changing rapidly. Countries may, at short notice, introduce entry restrictions or mandatory quarantine for travellers arriving from countries that are affected by coronavirus (covid-19). In addition, borders may be closed, flights cancelled, or other measures may be introduced.

More information is available on the Ministry’s website and on the website of the Norwegian Ministry of Public Health. The Ministry cannot guarantee that changes will not be made at short notice. It is up to people themselves to decide whether or not to travel. We advise people to take safety considerations into account, and to make sure that they keep up to date with developments in the country or countries concerned.  

Remember to register your journey on the website reiseregistrering.no. If you need consular assistance while abroad, you should contact the Norwegian Embassy in the country concerned, or call the Foreign Service Response Centre on the following number: +47 23 95 00 00.