Minister of Local Government and Modernisation Monica Mæland (Conservative Party)

Born: 1968
Appointed: 17/01/2018

The Minister of Local Government and Modernisation is responsible for public administration, local government finances, local administration and the conduct of elections, planning, housing and building policy, national mapping and geodata policy, rural and regional policy, Sami and minority affairs, government employer policy, central government buildings and property management, and contact with the Royal House of Norway.

Professional experience:

2018- Minister of Local Government and Modernisation
2013-2018 Minister of Trade and Industry
2003–2013: Head of  City Government, City of Bergen
1999–2003: Municipal Councilor, City of Bergen
1994–1999: Lawyer
1994: EU Group, Hordaland County Conservative Party


1994: Graduate degree in law (cand. jur.), University of Bergen

Political appointments:

2010–present: Member of the Executive Committee, Conservative Party of Norway
2003–present: Member of the Executive Committee, Conservative Party of Bergen
2002–2004: Chairman, Hordaland County Conservative Party
1999–2003: Member of Bergen City Council
1997–2002: Deputy chairman of the Hordaland County Conservative Party
1997: Deputy chairman of the Bergenhus Conservative Party
1996–1997: Second deputy chairman, Bergenhus Conservative Party
1995–1996: Leader of the Conservative Women’s Network, Bergen Conservative Party
1989–1992: Member of the faculty committee, Faculty of Law, University of Bergen
1989–1990: President of student parliament, University of Bergen and member of the executive committee, Norwegian Student Union, Bergen
1987–1988: Deputy chairman, Aust-Agder County Young Conservatives
1985–1986: Chairman, Arendal Young Conservatives

Other appointments:

2009–present: Member of the board, KLP Fondsforvaltning AS
2005–present: Chairman of the board, West Norway Office JSC
2002–2006: Chairman of the Board, Norwegian State Housing Bank
2002–2006: Deputy board member, Folketrygdfondet
1998–2002: Member of the board, Norwegian State Housing Bank