Former Minister of Fisheries Elisabeth Aspaker (Conservative Party)

Born: 1962

The Fisheries Minister is responsible for fisheries and aquaculture management, seafood safety, fish health and welfare, framework conditions for the seafood trade and market access for Norwegian seafood.

Parliamentary Terms of Office

Representative No. 7 for Troms, 2005–2009, Conservative Party (Høyre) 
Representative No. 4 for Troms, 2009–2013, Conservative Party (Høyre) 
Representative No. 2 for Troms, 2013–2017, Conservative Party (Høyre)

Parliamentary Committees

2005–2009 Member of the Standing Committee on Justice, 19.10.2005–30.09.2009

2009–2013 Member of the Standing Committee on Education, Research and Church Affairs, 01.10.2009–30.09.2013

Government Positions

Personal Secretary, Ministry of Justice and the Police, 20.10.1989–03.11.1990
Political Adviser, Ministry of Education and Research, 30.10.2001–18.06.2004
State Secretary, Ministry of Health and Care Services, 18.06.2004–30.09.2005


Education and Professional Experience

Academic Qualifications

  • Tromsø College of Education (General Teacher Training) 1981–1984
  • Media Studies and Mathematics, Volda University College/Tromsø College of Education 1984–1985
  • Management and Organisation, Harstad University College, 2001–2004

Career History

  • Teacher, Skånland Central School, Evenskjer 1985–1986
  • Secretary of Development Cooperation, Educational Association of the Conservative Party, 1987–1989
  • Teacher, Seljestad Lower Secondary School, Harstad, 1990–1995 (on leave from 1995), 1999–2001
  • Appointed to the County Governor of Troms with effect from the date the Ministry of Local Government and Modernisation (KMD) decide.

Offices Held

Local Government

  • Member of Harstad Municipal Council, 1991–1995
  • Member of Harstad Municipal Executive Board, 1999–2001 (on leave from 2001)

County government

  • Member of Troms County Council and Executive Board, 1991–1995
  • Deputy Mayor of Troms County Council, 1995–1999

Public Appointments

  • Member of the National Council for the Norwegian Home Guard, 1989–1997
  • Deputy Chair of the Board of Harstad Hospital, 1991–1995 and Chair, 1995–1999
  • Deputy Chair of the Council on Crime Prevention, 1993–1999 and Chair, 1999–2002
  • Member of the committee to review the gender equality apparatus, 1994–1995
  • Chair of the Troms Industrial Committee, 1995–1999
  • Deputy Chair of the Regional Committee for Northern Norway and Nord-Trøndelag, 1995–1999
  • Member of the Board of the North Norwegian Institute of Technology and Innovation (VINN), 1996–2001
  • Member of the monitoring committee of the interregional programme for the North Calotte Region, 1996–1999
  • Member of the Board of the investment company Nordnorsk Vekst A/S, 1997–1999
  • Deputy Chair of the Defence Policy Committee, 1999–2000
  • Member of the Board of the restructuring project in Innovation Ytre Lyngen 2008–2010

Political Appointments

  • Leader of Harstad Young Conservatives, 1980–1981
  • Leader of Troms Young Conservatives, 1983–1984, honorary member in 1997
  • Member of the Board of Troms Conservative Party, 1983–1984
  • Member of the Central Committee of the Young Conservatives 1984–1986
  • Deputy Leader of the Young Conservatives, 1986–1990
  • Member of the Central Committee of the Conservative Party of Norway, 1986–1991 and Deputy Chair, 1994–1998
  • Member of the Working Committee of the Conservative Party, 1990–1991
  • Chair of the Municipal Committee of the Conservative Party 1994–1998 and member, 1998–2001
  • Chair of the Crime Policy Committee of the Conservative Party of Norway, 1995
  • Member of the Conservative Party's Programme Committee, 2001–2005

Appointments in Organisations

  • Member of the Committee for Norwegian Young People's Associations, 1987–1989
  • Member of the Board of Troms County Sports Association, 1996–1997, 1999–2000
  • Member of the Executive Board of the Norwegian Association of Local Authorities (KS), 1996–2001
  • Second Vice President of the Norwegian Olympic Committee and Confederation of Sports 1996–1999

Other Administrative Offices

  • Member of the Supervisory Board of the bank Harstad Sparebank, 1995–1999
  • Chair of the Board of the cultural centre Harstad Kulturhus AS, 2000–2010
  • Member of the Corporate Assembly of the shipping company TFDS ASA, 2001–2003 and Chair 2003–2006 (TFDS merged with another company in 2007 to form the Norwegian Coastal Steamer Company Hurtigruten ASA)
  • Deputy chair of the Corporate Assembly of Hurtigruten ASA 2006–2008 and member, 2008–2009
  • Member of the Board of the suspension bridge company Hålogalandsbrua AS, 2008–2010