Norwegian Ministry of Trade and Shipping

Private Secretary 1967 - 1987

The post as political adviser in Norwegian government ministries is the continuation of two posts which developed from the late 1940's -private secretary from 1946 and private adviser from 1974. In 1992 the two posts were replaced by the post as political adviser.

The state secretaries and the political advisers are the political collaborators of the prime minister and the ministers. The state secretaries are appointed by the King, while the political advisers are appointed by the Office of the Prime Minister.


1 August 1967 - 31 December 1987

Private Secretary
1967-1969: Jan P. Syse (deputy director)
1972          : Dag Egil Sandal Tresselt
1972-1973: Egil Haugland
1973-1974: Arne Treholt
1974-1976: Gro Hillestad Thune
1976-1977: Tove Strand Gerhardsen
1978-1979: Alf Hildrum
1979-1981: Ragnar Guran
1981          : Hanne Finstad
1981-1983: Sverre Stub
1983-1986: Lars Rise
1986-1987: Asbjørn Eikeland