Advance unedited copy, EMBARGOED until Thursday, 4 March, 2010 at 12.00 Noon (Eastern Time)

4 March 2010, NY time - SECRETARY-GENERAL NAMES MEMBERS TO HIGH-LEVEL ADVISORY GROUP ON MOBILIZING CLIMATE CHANGE RESOURCES

The Secretary-General has selected the members for the new High-level Advisory Group on Climate Change Financing that will work to mobilize the financing promised for climate change during the UN Climate Change Conference in Copenhagen last December. The Secretary-General announced the launch of the Group on 12 February.

The Group of 19 experts will be co-chaired by His Excellency Mr. Gordon Brown, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and His Excellency Mr. Meles Zenawi, Prime Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia., and will include the participation of His Excellency Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo, President of the Republic of Guyana and His Excellency Mr. Jens Stoltenberg, Prime Minister of Norway. Joining them will be high-level officials from Ministeries and Central Banks as well as experts on public finance, development and related issues. The complete list of participants is attached.

The Secretary-General established the Group to study the potential sources of revenue for financing mitigation and adaptation activities in developing countries, and to make progress on this key issue in the course of 2010.

The Group is scheduled to hold its first meeting on 29 March in London. The Group is expected to issue initial outputs before the UNFCCC negotiating session that will be held from 31 May-11 June. The final report will be submitted to the UN Secretary-General and to the current (Denmark) and next (Mexico) presidents of the UNFCCC Conference of the Parties by November 2010.

Advance unedited copy, EMBARGOED until Thursday, 4 March, 2010 at 12.00 Noon (Eastern Time)

Membership, High-Level Advisory Group of the UN Secretary-General on Climate Change Financing

Heads of State and Government

Meles Zenawi, Prime Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (Co-Chair)

Gordon Brown, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (Co-Chair)

Bharrat Jagdeo, President of the Republic of Guyana

Jens Stoltenberg, Prime Minister of Norway

Other members: (in alphabetical order)

Ambassador Pedro Luiz Carneiro de Mendonça, Under-Secretary General for Economic and Technological Affairs, Ministry of External Relations, Brazil

Soumaïla Cissé, President, Commission of the West African Monetary Union

Ernesto Cordero Arroyo, Minister of Finance, Mexico

Donald Kaberuka, President, African Development Bank

Caio Koch-Weser, Vice-Chairman, Deutsche Bank Group

Jean-Pierre Landau, Second Deputy Governor, Bank of France

Trevor Manuel, Minister in the Presidency for National Planning, South Africa

Bob McMullan, Member of Parliament and Parliamentary Secretary for International Development Assistance, Australia

Mutsuyoshi Nishimura, Special Advisor to the Cabinet Office, Government of Japan

Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Minister for Finance, Singapore

Lawrence H. Summers, Director of the National Economic Council and Assistant to the President for Economic Policy, United States of America

Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission,

Advance unedited copy, EMBARGOED until Thursday, 4 March, 2010 at 12.00 Noon (Eastern Time)

Government of India

George Soros, Chairman, Soros Fund Management

Nicholas Stern, Professor of Economics and Government, London School of Economics

Zhu Guangyao, Assistant Minister, Ministry of Finance, People's Republic of China