Aktiver Javascript i din nettleser for en bedre opplevelse på regjeringen.no

EU-erklæring om Ugandas anti-homoseksualitetslov

4.mars sluttet Norge seg til EUs erklæring om fordømmelse av Ugandas anti-homoseksualitetslov.

Brussels, 4 March 2014

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union concerning the Ugandan Anti-Homosexuality Act.

The European Union condemns the adoption of the Anti-Homosexuality Act by Uganda on 24 February. The EU fully shares the concerns expressed by the United Nations Secretary- General, the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights and by Nobel Peace Prize laureate Desmond Tutu.

The EU is firmly committed to the promotion of human rights worldwide and denounces any discriminatory legislation. The EU will review how best to achieve this in Uganda in this changed context.

The Anti-Homosexuality Act contradicts the international commitments of the Ugandan government to respect and protect the fundamental human rights of all its citizens. The EUcalls upon Uganda to ensure equality before the law and non-discrimination in line with its obligations under international human rights law, including the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the African Charter of Human and Peoples' Rights.

The EU urges the state of Uganda to protect every individual against discrimination or violence and to repeal the Anti-Homosexuality Law.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland+ and Serbia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Armenia align themselves with this declaration.

* The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part

of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and of the European Economic Area.




Til toppen