EU-erklæring om situasjonen i Libya

Dette innholdet er mer enn 6 år gammelt. Informasjonen kan derfor være utdatert.

24. mai sluttet Norge seg til EUs erklæring om situasjonen i Libya.

24 MAY 2014

Declaration on behalf of the European Union on the situation in Libya.

"Libya is at a highly critical stage in its transition which it can successfully face through a constructive political engagement based on nationally agreed principles in order to achieve the goals of the 17 February revolution: fostering the rule of law, the respect of human rights and the welfare of its citizens. Otherwise it could face the threat of chaos, fragmentation, violence and terrorism.

The EU is deeply concerned by repeated acts of violence, and calls on all sides to refrain from the use of force and to address differences by political means.

The EU emphasizes the importance of an inclusive Libyan political dialogue and encourages all parties to actively cooperate with the United Nations Special Mission in Libya (UNSMIL), in particular to reach an agreement on a political roadmap for the transition process. The UN has a central role to play in coordinating international efforts in support of the political process on the ground.

In this framework, we call on all parties to create an environment conducive for holding parliamentary elections as soon as possible.

The process leading to a peaceful transition of power should be based upon broad consensus, avoiding any step that could hamper this process.

The EU reiterates its condemnation of terrorism in all its forms and expresses support for the fight against terrorism with full respect of human rights and rule of law.

The EU remains committed to a united, democratic and prosperous Libya and will continue to facilitate dialogue and reconciliation as key to the stabilization process, in the national interest of Libya and in the interest of the security of the Maghreb, the Sahel, as well as the Mediterranean region at large."

The Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Icelandand Serbia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia and Georgia, align themselves with this Declaration.

* The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and of the European Economic Area.