EU-erklæring i forbindelse med signeringen av våpenhvile i Myanmar

Dette innholdet er mer enn 5 år gammelt. Informasjonen kan derfor være utdatert.

27. oktober sluttet Norge seg til EUs erklæring i forbindelse med signeringen av våpenhvile i Myanmar.

European Union 

15 October 2015

Declaration by the High Representative for Foreign and Security Policy, Federica Mogherini, on behalf of the European Union on the occasion of the signing of a Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement in Myanmar/Burma.

The EU welcomes the signing of a Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA) between the Government of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar and Ethnic Armed Organisations. We congratulate the parties on their determination to conclude a challenging negotiation process. After decades of armed conflict and civilian suffering, this day marks a significant milestone on Myanmar/Burma's road to peace, security and prosperity. 

Compromises were made by all parties, demonstrating strong political will to address long-standing grievances through dialogue and co-operation rather than conflict and violence. 

The signing of the NCA is essential to establish a just and lasting peace in Myanmar/Burma. It allows for the start of a comprehensive, inclusive and credible political dialogue which will be the next step towards national reconciliation, respect for the rights of persons belonging to minorities and equitable development for all. 

The EU notes that not all ethnic armed organisations have signed the NCA today. It is important that ongoing dialogue with the groups that have not signed is prioritised in order to continue to build trust. We welcome the inclusion of these groups, as observers, in the next phase of the process. 

As a long-standing partner and active supporter of Myanmar/Burma's peace process, the EU is honoured to be one of the parties invited to sign the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement as an international witness. The EU and its Member States will continue to closely follow the peace process. We remain committed to further supporting it.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*,  Serbia and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia and Georgia align themselves with this Declaration.

* - The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.