Changes in the Government

In the Council of State today, the King has made changes in the Government.

Minister of Research and Higher Education, Mr. Ola Borten Moe, has been honourably discharged from his office.

Minister of Agriculture and Food, Ms. Sandra Borch, has been appointed Minister of Research and Higher Education.

Mr. Geir Pollestad has been appointed Minister of Agriculture and Food.

The changes are effective as of 12:00 hours today, 4 August 2023.


The government is a coalition between the Labour Party (Lab.) and the Centre Party (Cent.) The members of the Government are as follows:

Prime Minister
Mr. Jonas Gahr Støre (Lab.)

Minister of Finance
Mr. Trygve Slagsvold Vedum (Cent.)

Minister of Education
Ms. Tonje Brenna (Lab.)

Minister of International Development
Ms. Anne Beathe Tvinnereim (Cent.)

Minister of Trade and Industry
Mr. Jan Christian Vestre (Lab.)

Minister of Foreign Affairs
Ms. Anniken Huitfeldt (Lab.)

Minister of Climate and Environment
Mr. Espen Barth Eide (Lab.)  

Minister of Fisheries and Ocean Policy
Mr. Bjørnar Selnes Skjæran (Lab.)

Minister of Children and Families
Ms. Kjersti Toppe (Cent.)

Minister of Defence
Mr. Bjørn Arild Gram (Cent.)

Minister of Transport
Mr. Jon-Ivar Nygård (Lab.)

Minister of Labour and Social Inclusion
Ms. Marte Mjøs Persen (Lab.)

Minister of Health and Care services
Ms. Ingvild Kjerkol (Lab.)

Minister of Research and Higher Education
Ms. Sandra Borch (Cent.)

Minister of Justice and Public Security
Ms. Emilie Enger Mehl (Cent.)

Minister of Petroleum and Energy
Mr. Terje Aasland (Lab.)

Minister of Local Government and Regional Development
Mr. Sigbjørn Gjelsvik (Cent.)

Minister of Culture and Equality
Ms. Lubna Jaffery (Lab.)

Minister of Agriculture and Food
Mr. Geir Pollestad (Cent.)