The Government

The term "government" is used in everyday language in two senses: One is the Prime Minister and the ministers gathered for meetings as the Council of State, presided over by the King, and the other is the ministers gathered for government conferences, chaired by the Prime Minister. On this page, you will find information on the current government and past governments.

Regjeringen Solberg

Solberg’s Government

Erna Solberg's Government was appointed by King Harald V on 16 October 2013. The new government represents the Conservative Party (C) and the Progress Party (PrP). 17 January 2018 the government was extended with the Liberal Party (L), and 22 January 2019 the government was extended again with the Christian Democratic Party (CDP). 24 january 2020 PrP resigned from the government.

Regjeringen Solberg i statsråd på Slottet. Kongen og Kronprinsen sitter ved enden av bordet.

How is Norway governed?

According to the Constitution, which was adopted in 1814, Norway is a monarchy in which the power is divided between three branches: a legislative branch which is also responsible for appropriations, the Storting; an executive branch, the Government; and a judicial branch, the courts.

Norway's Governments since 1814

Here you will find a list of all of Norway's governments and ministers since 1814.