Ministry of Health and Care Services

The Ministry of Health and Care Services (HOD) is responsible for providing good and equal health and care services for the population of Norway. The ministry directs these services by means of a comprehensive legislation, annual budgetary allocations and through various governmental institutions.

Minister of Health and Care services Bent Høie

Bent Høie (Conservative Party)

Minister of Health and Care services

Ministry of Local Government and Modernisation

The Ministry is responsible for housing policy, the Planning and Building Act, local government finances and local administration, ICT Policy and Public Sector Reform, rural and regional policy, the conduct of elections, government employer policy, Sami and minority affairs and national mapping and geodata policy.

Statsråd Nikolai Astrup

Nikolai Astrup (Conservative Party)

Minister of Local Government and Modernisation

Linda Hofstad Helleland

Linda Hofstad Helleland (Conservative Party)

Minister of Regional Development and Digitalisation

Ministry of Culture

The Ministry of Culture is responsible for the policy areas of culture, equality and discrimination, copyright, the media, sport and the voluntary sector. The Ministry also has overarching responsibility for the state lotteries run by Norsk Tipping and for regulating gaming and lotteries run by private organisations.

Abid Q. Raja

Abid Raja (Liberal Party)

Minister of Culture and Equality

Ministry of Education and Research

Ministry of Education and Research is responsible for primary and secondary school, upper secondary and tertiary vocational education and higher education sectors,  kindergartens, cultural schools, vocational education and training and adult learning. The Ministry is also responsible for research and integration.

Bilde av Guri Melby

Guri Melby (Liberal Party)

Minister of Education and Integration

Bilde av forsknings- og høyere utdanningsminister Henrik Asheim

Henrik Asheim (Conservative Party)

Minister of Research and Higher Education

Ministry of Agriculture and Food

The Ministry of Agriculture and Food has chief responsibility for food policy and agricultural policy. Agricultural policy covers land utilisation, agriculture and forestry, reindeer and other animal husbandry, and development of new agriculture based industries.

Ministry of Agriculture and Food Olaug Vervik Bollestad.

Olaug Vervik Bollestad (Christian Democratic Party)

Minister of Agriculture and Food

Ministry of Transport

The Ministry of Transport has overall responsibility for the framework conditions for postal activities, for the civil aviation, public roads and rail transport sector, ferry services forming part of the national road system, for coastal management, the marine environment and port and sea transport policy.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

The main task of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is to secure and promote Norway’s interests internationally. Norway’s interests are determined by such factors as its geographical location in a strategically important area, its open economy, its position as a coastal state and steward of substantial marine resources, and its extensive exports of oil and gas.

Ine Eriksen Søreide

Ine Eriksen Søreide (Conservative Party)

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Minister of International Development Dag-Inge Ulstein

Dag-Inge Ulstein (Christian Democratic Party)

Minister of International Development