Prime Minister congratulates Ales Bialiatski, Memorial and the Center for Civil Liberties on Nobel Peace Prize

This content is more than 1 year old.

‘On behalf of the Norwegian Government, I would like to congratulate the winners of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize. In its announcement, the Norwegian Nobel Committee states that new laureates have worked for many years to promote the right to criticise power and protect the fundamental rights of citizens,’ said Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre.

This year, the Norwegian Nobel Committee has awarded the Peace Prize to human rights advocate Ales Bialiatski from Belarus, the Russian human rights organisation Memorial and the Ukrainian human rights organisation Center for Civil Liberties.

‘In its statement, the jury refers to the outstanding effort made by the laureates to document war crimes, human right abuses and the abuse of power. Together they demonstrate the significance of civil society for peace and democracy,’ said the Prime Minister.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee selects the Nobel Peace Prize laureates and gives grounds for its choice. The committee is independent of both the Storting (Norwegian parliament) and the Norwegian Government.