Enable Javascript in your browser for an improved experience of regjeringen.no

Prime Minister Solberg congratulates Sri Lanka’s new president

‘I congratulate the people of Sri Lanka on Thursday’s presidential election and the country’s new president, Maithripala Sirisena, on his victory,’ said Prime Minister Erna Solberg.

Presidential elections were held in Sri Lanka on 8 January. According to the final official results, Maithripala Sirisena was elected the new president by a 51.3 % majority vote.  

‘I commend the election commissioner, the election observers and all others for the part they played in ensuring that the people were able to exercise their democratic right to vote,’ said Prime Minister Solberg.

Initial reports by the election observers indicate that on the whole the election itself was conducted in an orderly manner, and that the security challenges on election day were dealt with professionally and effectively. Outgoing President Rajapakse has accepted the election results, in accordance with existing legislation and Sri Lanka’s tradition for a peaceful and orderly transfer of power.

‘I look forward to working with the newly elected president, Maithripala Sirisena, and his Government to promote a peaceful, inclusive and democratic Sri Lanka,’ said Prime Minister Solberg.

Go to the top