Agreement on Climate Change, Trade and Sustainability (ACCTS)

Norway, together with New Zealand, Costa Rica, Fiji and Iceland, has agreed to start negotiations on an ambitious, binding agreement on climate change, trade and sustainability.

The countries recognise that climate change is a major problem, and are seeking to use trade rules in support of climate action. They will consider trade policy measures such as eliminating tariffs on environmental goods, establishing new commitments for environmental services, reductions in fossil-fuel subsidies, and certification/eco-labelling schemes.

The five countries continue to be strong supporters of multilateral cooperation. The proposed agreement will be open to all countries, and it is hoped that more countries will join in due course, as a basis for reaching agreement on these issues within the WTO.

The joint leaders’ statement on the agreement was signed in New York on 25 September. Prime Minister Erna Solberg participated in the launch of the initiative, together with the prime ministers of New Zealand, Iceland and Fiji, and Vice Minister of Foreign Trade for Costa Rica.

Read more about the agreement.