Historical archive

Changes in the Government

Historical archive

Published under: Solberg's Government

Publisher: The Office of the Prime Minister

In a session of the Council of State today, the King has made changes in the Government.

Minister of Defence Ine Eriksen Søreide has been appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Minister of EEA and EU Affairs Frank Bakke-Jensen has been appointed Minister of Defence. Mr. Bakke-Jensen continues as Norwegian member of the Nordic Council of Ministers, responsible for the coordination of Nordic cooperation affairs.

State Secretary Marit Berger Røsland has been appointed Minister of EEA and EU Affairs in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

At the same time, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Børge Brende, has been honourably discharged from his office.

The changes are active as of 14.00 hours today, 20 October 2017.


The Government represents the Conservative Party (C) and the Progress Party (PrP):

Prime Minister
Ms. Erna Solberg (C)

Minister of Finance
Ms. Siv Jensen (PrP)

Minister of Local Government and Modernisation
Mr.Jan Tore Sanner (C)

Minister of Transport and Communication
Mr. Ketil Solvik-Olsen (PrP)

Minister of Trade and Industry
Ms. Monica Mæland (C)

Minister of Climate and Environment
Mr. Vidar Helgesen (C)

Minister of Children and Equality
Ms. Solveig Horne (PrP)

Minister of Health and Care Services
Mr. Bent Høie (C)

Minister of Foreign Affairs
Ms. Ine Eriksen Søreide (C)

Minister of Immigration and Integration
Ms. Sylvi Listhaug (PrP)

Minister of Fisheries
Mr. Per Sandberg (PrP)

Minister of Labour and Social Affairs
Ms. Anniken Hauglie (C)

Minister of Culture
Ms. Linda Hofstad Helleland (C)

Minister of Agriculture and Food
Mr. Jon Georg Dale (PrP)

Minister of Defence
Mr. Frank Bakke-Jensen (C)

Minister of Petroleum and Energy
Mr. Terje Søviknes (PrP)

Minister of Justice and Public Security
Mr. Per-Willy Trudvang Amundsen (PrP)

Minister of Education and Research
Mr. Henrik Asheim

Minister of EEA and EU Affairs
Ms. Marit Berger Røsland (C)