Former Minister of Local Government and Modernisation Jan Tore Sanner

Historical archive

Published under: Solberg's Government

Publisher: Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Former Minister of Local Government and Modernisation Jan Tore Sanner (Conservative Party)

(Period 16.10.2013-17.01.2018)

Kommunal- og moderniseringsminister Jan Tore Sanner

The Minister of Local Government and Modernisation is responsible for matters relating to housing and building policy, local government finances, ICT Policy and Public Sector Reform, rural and regional policy, local administration, the conduct of elections, government employer policy, central governments buildings, security and administrative services, government services and communication, Sami and minority affairs, management tasks under the Planning and Building Act relating to urban development, municipal land-use planning, environmental impact analyses and county planning, and national mapping and geodata policy.

Born: 1965

Political appointments

2013-2018 Minister of Local Government and Modernisation                            
1993-2017 Member of Parliament
1989-1993 Member of Parliament (substitute)
1987-1989 Substitute Member, Bærum Municipal Council
1983-1987 Substitute member, Bærum Municipal Council


Parliamentary committees

2005-2013   Second Vice Chairman, Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs
  Member, election campaign committee
2001-2005 Member, election campaign committee
Member, Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs
Member, Enlarged Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs
1997-2001 Vice Chairman, Standing Committee on Energy and the Environment
1993-1997 Member, Standing Committee on Education, Research and Church Affairs
1989-1993 Member, Standing Committee on Consumer Affairs
  and Government Administration



2009-2013 Member, European Consultative Committee
  Member, Norwegian Delegation to EFTA and EEA Parliamentary Committees
2005-2009 Substitute member, European Consultative Committee
2001-2005   Head, Norwegian Delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly
  Member, Norwegian Delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly
1993-1997 Substitute member, Delegation to the Interparliamentary Union (IPU)


Steering Committees

2009-2013 Vice Chairman, Conservative Steering Committee
2005-2009 Vice Chairman, Conservative Steering Committee
2001-2005   Vice Chairman, Conservative Steering Committee                                    


Public appointments

2004-2005 Member, Industrial Committee (Norwegian Official Reports 2005:4)
2000-2002 Chairman of the board, Henie-Onstad Art Centre
1999-2001 Member,Ministry of Foreign Affairs Human Rights Committee
1996-1997 Member, students' association, Oslo Private Gymnas
1993-1994 Member,Reference group for Norwegian Official Reports 1994:
  3 Ungdom, lønn og arbeidsledighet


Party appointments

2010- Member, European Peoples Party (EPP),
  Working Group Economic and Social Policy
2008- First Vice Chairman, Conservative Party
2005-2009 Chairman, Conservative Party Programme Committee
2004-2008 Second Vice Chairman, Conservative Party
2004-2005 Chairman, Conservative Party Programme Committee
2001-2005 First Vice Chairman, Akershus Conservative Party
1999-2001 President, Atlantic Association of Young Political Leaders (AAYPL)
1998-2000 Chairman, Bærum Conservative Party
1997-1999 Finance officer, AAYPL
1993-2001 Member, Executive Committee, AAYPL
1990-1994 Member, Conservative Party Executive Committee
1990-1994 Chairman, Norwegian Young Conservatives
1988-1994 Member, Conservative Party Central Executive Committee
1988-1990 Vice Chairman, Norwegian Young Conservatives
1987-1988 Chairman, Akershus Young Conservatives
1987-1988   Information secretary and political secretary, Akershus Conservative Party
1986-1987 Political secretary, Norwegian Young Conservatives
1985-1986 Chairman, Bærum Young Conservatives
1985-1985 Election campaign secretary, Bærum Conservative Party


Other appointments

2011- Board member, Stabæk IF
2010 Jury member, DnB NOR's Innovation Award
2009- Member, Committee of Solidarity with the Politically Persecuted in Venezuela
2008- Member, International Committee for Democracy in Cuba (ICDC)
1998- Council member, En verden
1997-2001   Member, Norwegian Petroleum Society, Oslo
1994- Council member, Norwegian Helsinki Committee



2011 Information course, Norwegian Defence University College
1994 Market economics, Norwegian School of Management
1989            Marketing communication, foundation-level, IFM Westerdals School of Advertising
1987 Marketing management, BI
1984 Examen philosophicum
1984 Final examinations, upper secondary school


Part-time work related to sale and services (during studies)

Medals and awards
The Dysleksiprisen award, awarded by the Telemark county group of the Norwegian Dyslexia Association in 1997

Helgesen, Vidar, Jan Tore Sanner og André Støylen (red.): Grenser for politikk: Høyre som grensevakt?, Schibsted Oslo 1994
Sanner, Jan Tore (red.): Mangfold og valgfrihet fremmer kvalitet i skolen 1995
Beck, Christian W.: Statens Barn?: Valgfrihet styrker familien., Exodus Birkeland 1996
Sanner, Jan Tore (red.): Kunnskap, mangfold og valgfrihet 1997
NATO Parliamentary Assembly 50th anniversary, Polarbears and Russian bears in Northern Flank, Brüssel 2005