Identification of systemically important institutions

The Ministry of Finance has today decided that DNB ASA, Kommunalbanken AS, Nordea Eiendomskreditt AS and Sparebank 1 SR-Bank ASA shall be identified as systemically important institutions in Norway, as recommended by the Norwegian FSA.

The decision entails that DNB ASA is still required to hold an O-SII buffer of 2 percent, while Kommunalbanken AS and Nordea Eiendomskreditt AS still are required to hold a 1 percent buffer. Additionally, Sparebank 1 SR-Bank ASA is now deemed as a systemically important institution that shall hold a 1 percent buffer from 30 September 2024.

The Ministry of Finance shall, in accordance with the capital requirements framework, each year decide on institutions that are identified as systemically important in Norway based on advice from the FSA. The Ministry notified relevant EU/EEA-authorities in June. The Standing Committee of the EFTA States has now approved the buffer requirements for the systemically important institutions, and the Ministry has today made its decision as announced in the news story about the notification.