Enable Javascript in your browser for an improved experience of regjeringen.no

Norway does not recognise 'treaty' between Russian Federation and South Ossetia region of Georgia

'Russia's signing of agreements on alliance and integration with the breakaway regions of Georgia will not help to promote security and stability in the region. The agreements violate Georgia's sovereignty and territorial integrity. I therefore denounce today's signing of a 'treaty' between Russia and the Georgian region of South Ossetia,' said Minister of Foreign Affairs Børge Brende.

In November, Russia and the Georgian breakaway region of Abkhazia entered into a so-called 'treaty on alliance and strategic partnership'. Today, a similar agreement was signed between the Russian Federation and Georgia's breakaway region of South Ossetia, this time on 'alliance and integration'. The agreements provide for closer integration of the two breakaway regions into Russia's civilian and military governance structures.

'As the agreement was being signed in Moscow, a new round of international talks was under way in Geneva between the parties to the conflict over Georgia's breakaway regions. Regrettably, today's agreement undermines the work being done to strengthen security in the region and address the humanitarian problems caused by the conflict,' said Mr Brende.

'Norway once again urges Russia to comply with the ceasefire agreement of 12 August 2008, and the supplementary provisions of 8 September 2008. We call on Russia to reverse its recognition of the Georgian breakaway regions as independent states and withdraw its military forces from Georgia. Norway will continue to support Georgia's sovereignty and territorial integrity,' said Mr Brende.

Go to the top