Norway to host informal Nordic Prime Ministers’ meeting

Norway holds the Presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers in 2017, and Prime Minister Erna Solberg will host a meeting of her Nordic colleagues in Bergen on 29 and 30 May.

Nordic Prime Ministers, Bjarni Benediktsson, Stefan Löfven, Juha Sipilä, Lars Løkke Rasmussen and Erna Solberg will be present at the meeting. Among the items on the agenda are: further development of the Nordic region to ensure that it remains the most integrated region in the world, the fight against extremism and the Nordic region in the world. The Nordic region in transition, digitisation and climate change will also be discussed.

Journalists who would like to cover the meeting must apply for accreditation by 12:00 on Tuesday 23 May to:

Key events on the programme

Monday 29 May: boat to Cornelius, a seafood restaurant just outside Bergen, for those taking part in the Nordic Prime Ministers’ meeting. This will be followed by a press conference. Later in the day, Finland will hold a reception at Bergenhus fortress in connection with the 100th anniversary of Finland’s independence. 

Tuesday 30 May: boat to the Institute of Marine Research’s station at Austevoll for an introduction to the Institute and its work on sustainable development of the oceans. After this, the Nordic Prime Ministers’ joint initiative, Nordic Solutions to Global Challenges, will be launched. The initiative is a central part of the Nordic response to the United Nations' sustainability goals.  There will be a press opportunity immediately after the launch.

The day will be concluded with a meeting between the five Prime Ministers, and the Premier of Åland, the President of the Nordic Council and the Secretary General of the Nordic Council of Ministers at Bekkjarvik Gjæstgiveri.

Press contacts:

Norway: Communications Adviser Tor Borgersen, mobile phone: +47 909 38 987
Iceland: Press Contact Sigurður Már Jónsson, Tel: +(354) 545 8400
Finland: Head of Communications Anne Sjöholm, telephone: +358 40 537 0733
Sweden: Press Secretary Ingela Nilsson, telephone: + 46 (0)72-551 41 16
Denmark: Press Secretary Sabrina Drevsfeldt Theil, telephone: +45 61985080
Nordic Council of Ministers: Head of Communications Mary Gestrin, telephone: + 45 217 171 35

Go to the top