Historical archive

Changes in the travel advice for Germany and Liechtenstein

Historical archive

Published under: Solberg's Government

Publisher: Ministry of Foreign Affairs

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is now advising against non-essential travel to Germany and Liechtenstein, as well as to the regions of Kalmar and Västerbotten in Sweden.

On the basis of the Norwegian Institute of Public Health’s weekly assessment of the Covid-19 situation, the Government has decided to advise against non-essential travel to these countries and regions.

These countries and regions are being changed from ‘yellow’ to ‘red’ on the map showing the status for quarantine on entry to Norway from Europe. From 29 August, anyone arriving in Norway from these countries and regions will be required to go into quarantine for 10 days. See the website of the Norwegian Institute of Public Health for more information.

In addition to Germany and Liechtenstein, the Ministry advises against non-essential travel to the following countries and regions in the Schengen area/EEA: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, the Faroe Islands, France, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Switzerland, the UK, and certain regions in Sweden and Denmark. See the list published on the website of the Norwegian Institute of Public Health.

These changes will apply from midnight on Friday 28 August. The infection situation and local restrictions can both change very quickly. Anyone who is considering travelling abroad should think carefully about whether it is necessary for them to travel, and make sure that they know what the situation is in the country they are planning to visit. Exceptions to the travel advice are not intended to encourage travel abroad.

People who have returned to Norway from a country that becomes ‘red’ after their return must monitor their health for symptoms of Covid-19. It is very important that they get themselves tested if they experience any symptoms, and that they practise good hand hygiene and maintain a distance of at least one metre from other people.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is maintaining its global advice against non-essential travel to all countries apart from those for which an exception has been made. This travel advice currently applies until 1 October. For an updated overview of countries in the Schengen area/EEA and the Nordic countries and regions that are excepted from the travel advice, see the Institute of Public Health’s map showing the status for quarantine on entry to Norway from Europe and the Ministry’s travel information.