Historical archive

Changes in the travel advice for some Nordic countries and areas

Historical archive

Published under: Solberg's Government

Publisher Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Based on the Norwegian Institute of Public Health’s weekly assessment of the Covid-19 situation, the Government has decided to change the status of Iceland and the North Karelia Hospital District in Finland from ‘yellow’ to ‘red’ on the map showing the status for quarantine on entry to Norway from Europe.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is now advising against non-essential travel to these areas. From midnight on Sunday 11 April, anyone arriving in Norway from these areas, and who satisfies the criteria for entry to the country, will be required to go into quarantine for 10 days. For more information about entry rules, see here. As a general rule, only foreign nationals who have residency in Norway will be allowed entry to the country.

The Norwegian Institute of Public Health has recommended removing the quarantine requirement for travellers from the following hospital districts in Finland: the Länsi-Pohja Hospital District, Lappi Hospital District, North Ostrobothnia Hospital District and South Ostrobothnia Hospital District. These areas will therefore be excepted from the Ministry’s global travel advice and will change from ‘red’ to ‘yellow’ on the map showing the status for quarantine on entry to Norway from Europe. 

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is maintaining its global advice against non-essential travel to all countries apart from those for which an exception has been made. This travel advice currently applies until 15 May 2021. For an updated overview of countries in the Schengen area/EEA and the Nordic countries and regions that are excepted from the travel advice, see the Institute of Public Health’s map showing the status for quarantine on entry to Norway from Europe and the Ministry’s travel information. 

The new changes will apply from midnight on Sunday 11 April. The infection situation and local restrictions can both change very quickly. The travel advice is advisory. It is not a ban. However, if you travel to a country against the Ministry’s advice, there may be implications for your travel insurance. You should also be aware that the Foreign Service’s capacity to provide consular assistance may be limited in countries for which travel advice has been issued. At worst, the Foreign Service will not be able to provide consular assistance if you have problems.  

As of 1 January 2021, the UK is no longer a member of the EU. Subsequently, the UK will no longer be included in the Institute of Public Health’s assessment process and will be subject to the same quarantine requirements as other countries outside the Schengen area/EEA (third countries).