Department for Planning

The department’s area of responsibility includes management and development tasks under the Planning and Building Act relating to urban development, municipal land-use planning, environmental impact analyses, and regional planning.- The department is also responsible for national mapping and geodata policy and is responsible for the Norwegian Mapping Authority.

The department is headed by Director General Jarle Jensen.

Important tasks are development of legislation, development and dissemination of national goals and interests in regional and local planning, , central government land-use plans, following up of national guidelines for housing, land-use and transport planning, consideration of complaints, advice on the use of the planning system, policy development for sustainable cities and towns.