About the Ministry

The Norwegian Ministry of Climate and Environment has the main responsibility for ensuring integrated governmental climate and environmental policies.

Environmental challenges are complex and affect all actors in society. Developments in the various sectors are largely determined by sectoral policies. In efforts to create sustainable development, environmental considerations need to be integrated into policy making in all areas of society.

In addition to initiating, developing and implementing its own measures and actions, the Ministry also acts as promoter and coordinator to ensure that the authorities in the various sectors implement the environmental policies in their particular areas.

The Ministry has four departments: the Norwegian Environment Agency, the Norwegian Polar Institute, the Directorate for Cultural Heritage and the Norwegian Cultural Heritage Fund.

The Ministry of the Environment has a staff of about 260 and was established in 1972.

Enviornmental Targets