International cultural cooperation

European cooperation

EEA Grants

The EEA Grants are Norway’s, Iceland’s and Liechtenstein’s contribution towards reducing economic and social disparities in Europe. Funding is provided to 15 beneficiary states in Central and Southern Europe within a variety of different sectors. A key priority of the EEA Grants it so strengthen bilateral relations and cooperation between the beneficiary and donor states at all levels.

In the current funding period more than 177 million EUR are provided to cultural entrepreneurship, cultural heritage and cultural cooperation programmes with Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania and Slovakia. Several projects funded by these programmes will be implemented in cooperation between Norwegian and foreign cultural actors. Arts and Culture Norway cooperates with authorities in the beneficiary states on the development and implementation of several of these programmes. The Arts and Culture Norway is the national contact point for these programmes and provides guidance and information to Norwegian and foreign cultural actors on how to find suitable partner institutions. The EEA Grants also fund projects in the field of tangible cultural heritage such as e.g. the renovation and revitalisation of historical buildings. The Norwegian Directorate of Cultural Heritage is the national contact point for these programs.

The Creative Europe programme (2014-2020)

The EEA Agreement incorporated culture as an area of cooperation outside of the four freedoms in 1995, and Norway has participated in the EU’s culture and media programmes since 1996. Arts and Culture Norway is the national Creative Europe Desk – in close cooperation with the Norwegian Film Institute.

Europeana and CEF Digital

Norway participates in Europeana through the EU’s Connecting Europe Facility – Digital programme. 8,4 procent of the total Europeana content originates from Norway. Arts and Culture Norway is the national aggregator for Norwegian content.

The Council of Europe

Norway has ratified the European Cultural Convention and the Framework Convention on the Value of Cultural Heritage for Society (Faro Convention). Norway is also a member of the Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes, where Arts Council Norway sits on the Governing Board. 

Learn more: