New package of sanctions against Russia incorporated into Norwegian law

This content is more than 1 year old.

Norway has introduced a new set of sanctions against President Putin and the Russian regime. The sanctions enter into force today.

‘Once again we are acting in concert with the EU to impose sanctions on Russia to maintain pressure on the Russian Government and its supporters. The additional sanctions are a necessary response to Russia’s brutal war and the illegal annexation of four regions of Ukraine,’ said Minister of Foreign Affairs Anniken Huitfeldt.

The wide-ranging packages of sanctions introduced are intended to reduce Russia’s ability to finance its illegal war in Ukraine. The new package of sanctions further tightens the restrictions on products and services that are of importance to Russia. It also includes sanctions targeting individuals involved in the so-called ‘referendums’ carried out in occupied regions of Ukraine.

‘The sanctions are becoming increasingly comprehensive, and represent a strong and clear European response to Russia’s aggression in Ukraine. The opportunities to engage in commercial activities with Russia have now been significantly curtailed and carry a high risk,’ said Ms Huitfeldt.

Facts about the additional sanctions against Russia 

The latest package of sanctions against Russia was adopted by the EU on 6 October 2022, and is the eighth package of sanctions to be imposed on Russia since its invasion of Ukraine. The main elements of the new package are:

  • A further 30 individuals and 7 entities have been sanctioned, including several who were involved in the so-called ‘referendums’ in the occupied Ukrainian regions. The list now encompasses 1 260 individuals and 115 entities.
  • A new listing criterion has been introduced that allows sanctioning of individuals and entities that facilitate infringements of the prohibition against circumvention of sanctions.
  • The geographical scope of certain restrictive measures has been expanded to apply to non-government controlled areas of Kherson and Zaporizhzhia.
  • A ban on holding posts in governing bodies of certain state-owned or state-controlled enterprises has been introduced.
  • Existing prohibitions on the provision of services for crypto assets to Russian citizens, persons living in Russia and entities established in Russia have been further tightened.
  • Additional export restrictions have been introduced on coal, electronic components, technological items used in the aviation sector, certain chemicals and small arms.
  • Additional import restrictions have been introduced on steel products, machinery and appliances, plastics, vehicles, textiles, footwear, leather, ceramics, certain chemical products and non-gold jewellery.
  • The ban on access to ports has been expanded to apply to vessels registered in the Russian Maritime Register of Shipping. The exemption allowing fishing vessels access to the ports of Tromsø, Kirkenes or Båtsfjord still applies.
  • Additional restrictions have been introduced that widen the scope of services that can no longer be provided to the Russian Government, or to legal persons established in Russia, to include IT consultancy, legal advisory, architecture and engineering services.
  • A legal basis has been introduced for the implementation of a potential price cap on Russian oil.

Guidelines for the business sector

Guidelines for the business sector issued by Ministry of Foreign Affairs  (Norwegian only) and will be updated on a regular basis. 

Amended regulations

The sanctions adopted by the EU have been implemented in Norwegian law through amendments to the relevant regulations.      

For more information about the full sanctions package, see the regulations (Norwegian only).

The amendments to the regulations will enter into force immediately and will be published on Lovdata.