Schweigaard/Løvenskiold Government

3. April 1884–26. June 1884

The Schweigaard/Løvenskiold Government (the April Government) was appointed in a session of the Council of State on 3 April 1884, effective as of the same day. It succeded the Christian Selmer Government, after six of its ministers had been deprived of their offices by impeachment. The Schweigaard/Løvenskiold Government was named after Prime Minister Christian H. Schweigaard and the Norwegian Prime Minister in Stockholm, Carl Otto Løvenskiold.

On 31 May 1884, Prime Minister Christian Schweigaard handed in his and the  Government's resignation, due to the Liberal Party's pressure that governments should be dependent of the Storting. Permission to leave was granted by King Oscar II in a session of the Council of State on 26 June 1884, effective as of 26 June 1884. At the same time, Johan Sverdrup’s Government was appointed, effective as of 26 June 1884. This was the first Norwegian government to depend on support by a majority in the Storting. The Government represented the Liberal Party.

More about Norway’s Council of State during the Union with Sweden.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:

In Kristiania
State Secretary Halfdan Lehmann

In Stockholm
Director General Hans Schlytter

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Christian Homann Schweigaard
Resignation reason:
Change after government crisis