Second Wedel Government and its continuation

19. September 1836–8. March 1844

The change between the First Wedel Government and the Second Wedel Government and its Continuation, took place at the appointment of former minister of finance Herman Wedel Jarlsberg as the Swedish-Norwegian King’s Governor-General in Norway on 19 September 1836.

The change between the Second Wedel Government and the Løvenskiold/Vogt Government took place at the accession to the throne of King Oscar I on 8 March 1844, following the death of King Carl XIV Johan. The Løvenskiold/Vogt Government was named after Governor-General Severin Løvenskiold and Minister Jørgen Herman Vogt.

More about Norway’s Council of State during the Union with Sweden.

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Severin Løvenskiold (1836–1841)
Frederik Due (1841–1844)