Science prizes

A number of international research prizes are awarded in Norway to honour outstanding scientific contributions and to stimulate interest in research among the general public.

The Abel Prize in mathematics was awarded for the first time in 2003, followed in 2004 by the Holberg Prize to scholars within arts and humanities, social science, law or theology. The three Kavli Prizes in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience have been awarded every other year since 2008.

H.R.H. Crown Prince Haakon Magnus presents the 2017 Holberg Prize to Onora O’Neill

The Holberg Prize 2017 (Photo: Thor Brødreskift/The Holberg Prize)