The Abel Prize

The Abel Prize recognizes pioneering scientific achievements in mathematics. The prize shall also help boost the status of the field of mathematics in society and stimulate children and youth to become interested in mathematics.

The Abel Prize is administered by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters on behalf of the Ministry of Education and Research, and has been awarded since 2003. The prize amount is 7.5 million NOK.

Abel Prize laureates

2024 Michel Talagrand
2023 Luis A. Caffarelli
2022 Dennis Parnell Sullivan
2021 László Lovász and Avi Wigderson
2020 Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis
2019 Karen Uhlenbeck
2018 Robert P. Langlands
2017 Yves Meyer
2016 Sir Andrew J. Wiles
2015 John F. Nash, Jr. and Louis Nirenberg
2014 Yakov G. Sinai
2013 Pierre Deligne
2012 Endre Szemerédi
2011 John Willard Milnor
2010 John Torrence Tate
2009 Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov
2008 John Griggs Thompson and Jacques Tits
2007 Srinivasa S.R. Varadhan
2006 Lennart Carleson
2005 Peter D. Lax
2004 Sir Michael Francis Atiyah and Isadore M. Singer
2003 Jean-Pierre Serre

Niels Henrik Abel

Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829) was a Norwegian mathematician. In spite of his short life, he made significant contributions within a variety of mathematical topics.

The Abel Prize Week

The Abel Prize is announced in March, and is awarded annually in the end of May at the University Aula in Oslo. The Abel week includes several other events such as Laureate Lectures, events for children and youth, and the Government banquet in honour of the Laureate at Akershus Castle.

Abel Prize 2023 HM King Harald and Luis A. Caffarelli
Abel Prize 2023 HM King Harald and Luis A. Caffarelli Credit: Photo: Alf Simensen NTB