The departments of the Ministry of Children and Families

Department of Childhood, Youth and Family Affairs

The Department of Childhood, Youth and Family Affairs is responsible for the design and coordination of overall child and youth policy as well as government family policy.

The family policy, includes the following:

  • child and family legislation,
  • development and administration of benefit schemes for families with children,
  • preventive family welfare measures,
  • support and policy development relating to children and youth,
  • adoption policy,
  • policy for preventing and assisting individuals subjected to domestic violence.  

The department is divided into three sections:

  • Section for Family Policy and Child Benefits
  • Section for Child and Family Law
  • Section for Early Development and Preventive Measures.

The department participates in a number of organisations and international activities in the fields of child and youth affairs, family policy and family law, such the Nordic Council of Ministers, the Council of Europe, the European Union, the United Nations and the Hague Conference on Private International Law. 

  • Overall child and youth policy
  • Adoption
  • Family affairs
  • Child and family law
  • Benefit schemes for families with children
  • Domestic violence

The department administers the following legislation:  

  • Act relating to adoption 
  • Act relating to children and parents (The Children Act)
  • The National Insurance Act, Chapter 14 (on benefits in connection with childbirth and adoption)
  • The Family Allowance Act
  • Act concerning cash benefit for parents with small children (The Cash Benefit Act)
  • The Marriage Act
  • Act relating to the authority of Norwegian public officials to solemnize marriage abroad, and of foreign public officials to solemnize marriage in Norway
  • Act relating to the recognition of foreign divorces and separations
  • Act relating to registered partnership
  • Act relating to family counselling 

Associated agencies:   

  • Norwegian Labour and Welfare Administration (NAV) (areas within the Ministry’s sphere of responsibility)
  • Norwegian Directorate for Children, Youth and Family Affairs (Bufdir) (areas within the Ministry’s sphere of responsibility)
  • County Governor’s Offices (areas within the Ministry’s sphere of responsibility)