Jens Bratlie's Government

20. February 1912–31. January 1913

Conservative Party (H) and Moderate Liberal Party (MV)

Jens Bratlie’s Government was appointed by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 19 February 1912, effective as of 20 February 1912 at 12.30 p.m. It succeded Wollert Konow’s (S.B.) Government, after this Government had received a vote of no confidence in the Storting due to the Prime Minister's statements in a language matter.

In a session of the Council of State on 24 January 1913, Jens  Bratlie's Government handed in its resignation, as general elections 20 October-11 November 1912 had not rendered sufficient suport for the Government in the Storting. Permission to leave was granted by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 30 January 1913, effective as of 31 January 1913. At the same time, Gunnar Knudsen's Second Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:
State Secretary Nils Otto Hesselberg

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Jens Kristian Meinich Bratlie (H)
Parliamentary basis:
Coalition government
Appointment reason:
Change after government crisis
Resignation reason:
Change after general elections
Parties in the Government:
Høyre (H) og Frisinnede Venstre (FRIVNSTR)