Government Delegation in Oslo 1945

8. May 1945–31. May 1945

At the German capitulation in Norway on 8 May 1945, Vidkun Quisling's illegal government was dissolved. In agreement with the resistance movement Home Front, Johan Nygaardsvold's Government in London had appointed eight chief officers to lead the ministries in Oslo until a government delegation would arrive from London.

The main task of the chief officers was to link up the ministries with the Nygaardsvold government, by re-establishing the structure of ministries that had existed in Oslo on 9 April 1940.

In a session of the Council of State in London on 8 May 1945, King Haakon VII appointed a government delegation to travel to Oslo as soon as possible. The delegation was headed by Crown Prine Olav as Regent, and Minister of Defence Oscar Torp as acting Prime Minister and acting Minister of Foreign Affairs.

On 12 May 1945, Ministers Sverre Støstad and Paul Hartmann arrived in Oslo, and on 13 May the rest of the delegation. On 14 May 1945, the Government Delegation was established in Oslo. Its conferences were held in the Council of State Hall at the Royal Palace. The chief officers now became advisers to the ministers, until their role was abolished on 1 August 1945.

On 31 May 1945, Prime Minister Johan Nygaardsvold and the rest of his Government returned to Oslo. On 7 June 1945, King Haakon VII returned. On 12 June 1945, King Haakon VII led his first Council of State session at the Royal Palace since 5 April 1940.

About the Government

Prime Minister: