Legislation Department

The Ministry of Justice and Public Security's Legislation Department is a legal expertise body serving the Government and the central government administration.

The task of the Ministry of Justice and Public Security's Legislation Department is to contribute to ensuring quality legislation.

The department:

  • Provides legal advice to the Government and the ministries. 
  • is responsible for key areas such as constitutional law, administrative law, criminal law, procedural law, contract law, property law, tort law, inheritance law and parts of family law.
  • is responsible for the technical quality of legislation. With the exception of tax bills, all draft legislation must be submitted to the department for technical review. The department assists other ministries in their legislative work by providing them with advice and views on the drafting of new laws and amendment acts.
  • participates in international forums within the department's specialised areas, including negotiations on international agreements.

The department consists of the following sections

  • Unit for Criminal Law and Procedure

    The unit is responsible for criminal law, Norwegian and international criminal procedure, civil procedure, human rights issues in criminal law and procedure, data protection legislation and Nordic legal cooperation.

  • Unit for Public Law

    The unit is responsible for constitutional law, general administrative law, expropriation and general legislative issues. In cooperation with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the unit is also responsible for international law, EEA/EU law and international human rights.

  • Unit for Private Law

    The unit is responsible for contract law, tort law, insurance law, property law, mortgage law, bankruptcy law, debt collection, enforcement, inheritance law, family law, guardianship law, interlegal law, international civil procedure and parts of transport law.