Migration Department

The Migration Department (INN) has overall responsibility for coordinating and implementing the state's policies on immigration, asylum seekers and refugees.

The department is charged with agency management of the Directorate of Immigration (UDI) and Immigration Appeals Board (UNE), as well as overall responsibility for the operation of state reception centres for asylum seekers.

The department is also responsible for immigration legislation and associated regulations, as well as safeguarding Norwegian interests related to protection and migration in the EU, Norway's participation in the Schengen cooperation and in a number of international organisations such as the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the International Organisation for Migration (IOM).

The department has the following sections:

The department consists of the following sections

  • Budget, Management and Reception Section (BSM)

    The section's responsibilities include agency management, financial management and budgeting as well as the organisation and content of accommodation provisions for asylum seekers in Norway.

  • Migration and Refugee Section (MFS)

    European policy and global cooperation, UNHCR, resettlement refugees, return and repatriation.

  • Regulatory and Practices Section (RPS)

    Immigration regulations, practice governance, human rights and monitoring bodies.

  • Regulatory and Control Section (RKS)

    Immigration regulations, practice governance and security matters.