Enable Javascript in your browser for an improved experience of regjeringen.no

Johan Mowinckel's Third Government

3. mars 1933–20. mars 1935

Liberal Party (V)

Johan L. Mowinckel’s Third Government was appointed by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 2 March 1933, effective as of 3 March 1933 at 11 a.m. It succeded Jens Hundseid’s Government, which had received a vote of no confidence in the Storting on the issue of economic restrictions.

On 16 March 1935, Johan L. Mowinckel's Third Government handed in its resignation, after an economic agreement had been made in the Storting between the Labour Party and the Farmers’ Party. Permission to leave was granted by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 19 March 1935, effective as of 20 March 1935 at 12 noon. At the same time, Johan Nygaardsvold's Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Johan Ludwig Mowinckel (V)
Parliamentary basis:
Minority government
Appointment reason:
Change after vote of no-confidence
Resignation reason:
Change after government crisis
Parties in the Government:
Venstre (V)


Go to the top