Otto Blehr's First Government

21. April 1902–22. October 1903

Liberal Party (V)

In a session of the Council of State on 21 April 1902, Norwegian Prime Minister in Stockholm Otto Blehr was appointed Prime Minister. The reason was that Prime Minister Johannes Steen had handed in his resignation on 12 April 1902, as the Liberal Party had wanted him to leave his post to a younger politician. In a session of the Council of State on 16 April 1902, Blehr and the rest of the Government had put their seats at disposal. As Crown Prince Regent Gustaf had asked them to remain in office, Steen was on 21 April 1902 granted permission to leave while the other members of the Government were re-appointed, effective as of the same day. At the same time, Sigurd Ibsen was appointed minister. He took his seat while the Council of State was still in session.

In a session of the Council of State on 22 October 1903, Otto Blehr’s First Government handed in its resignation, as general elections 6 August-16 September 1903 had not rendered sufficient support for the Government in the Storting. Permission to leave was granted by King Oscar II in the same session of the Council of State, effective as of 22 October 1903 at 12 noon. Minister Sigurd Ibsen withdrew his resignation. At the same time, Francis Hagerup’s Second Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

 More about Norway’s Council of State during the Union with Sweden.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:

In Kristiania
State Secretary Halfdan Lehmann

In Stockholm
Director General Hans Schlytter, until 1 March 1903
Director General August Sibbern, from 22 June 1903

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Otto Albert Blehr (V)
Parliamentary basis:
One-party government
Resignation reason:
Change after general elections
Parties in the Government:
Venstre (V)