Francis Hagerup's Second Government

22. October 1903–11. March 1905

Conservative Party (H), Coalition Party (Saml) and Liberal Party (V)

Francis Hagerup’s Second Government was appointed by King Oscar II in a session of the Council of State on 22 October 1903, effective as of 12 noon the same day. It succeded Otto Blehr’s First Government, after general elections 6 August-16 September 1903 had not rendered sufficient support for Blehr’s Government in the Storting

On 28 February 1905, Ministers Christian Michelsen and Jacob Schøning handed in their resignations. In a session of the Council of State on 1 March 1905, Prime Minister Francis Hagerup, Minister Sigurd Ibsen and the rest of the Government handed in their resignations. The reason was disagreement on Prime Minister Hagerup's line in the negotiations to end the union between Sweden and Norway.

In a session of the Council of State on 11 March 1905, Crown Prince Regent Gustaf granted Francis Hagerup’s Second Government permission to leave, as of 11 March 1905 at 12 noon. Christian Michelsen withdrew his resignation. At the same time, Christian Michelsen’s Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

More about Norway’s Council of State during the Union with Sweden.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:

In Kristiania
State Secretary Halfdan Lehmann

In Stockholm
Director General Agust Sibbern

About the Government

Prime Minister:
George Francis Hagerup (H)
Parliamentary basis:
Coalition government
Appointment reason:
Change after general elections
Resignation reason:
Change after government crisis
Parties in the Government:
Høyre (H), Samlingspartiet (SMLNGSP) og Venstre (V)