Johannes Steen's Government

17. February 1898–21. April 1902

Liberal Party (V)

Johannes Steen’s Second Government was appointed by King Oscar II in a session of the Council of State on 17 February 1898, effective as of 12 noon the same day. It succeded Francis Hagerup’s First Government, after general elections in late 1897 had not rendered sufficient support for Hagerup’s Government in the Storting. 

On 12 April 1902, Prime Minister Johannes Steen handed in his resignation, because the Liberal Party wanted him to leave his post to a younger politician. In a session of the Council of State on 16 April 1902, Prime Minister Otto Blehr and the rest of the Government put their seats at disposal. Steen's permission to leave was granted by Crown Prince Regent Gustaf in a session of the Council of State on 21 April 1902, effective as of the same day. Blehr was appointed Prime Minister, while the remaining members of the Government at the request of the Crown Prince Regent declared their willingness to remain in office, all effective as of 21 April 1902. Sigurd Ibsen was appointed minister, and took his seat while the Council of State was still in session.

More about Norway’s Council of State during the Union with Sweden.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:

In Kristiania
State Secretary Halfdan Lehmann

In Stockholm
Director General Hans Schlytter

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Johannes Wilhelm Christian Steen (V)
Parliamentary basis:
One-party government
Appointment reason:
Change after general elections
Parties in the Government:
Venstre (V)