Peder Kolstad's Government

12. May 1931–14. March 1932

Farmers’ Party (B)

Peder Kolstad’ Government was appointed by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 11 May 1931, effective as of 12 May 1931 at 2 p.m. It succeded Johan L. Mowinckel’s Second Government, which had lost an industrial licence vote in the Storting.

In a session of the Council of State on 7 March 1932, acting Prime Minister Nils Trædal announced that Prime Minister Kolstad had passed away on 5 March 1932. At King Haakon VII's request, the government remained in office until it was reconstructed in a session of the Council of State on 14 March 1932, effective as of 10.45 a.m. the same day. Jens Hundseid was appointed Prime Minister. Minister of Trade Per Larssen  resigned and was granted permission to leave. At the request of the King, the remaining members of the Government declared their willingness to remain in office. Acting Minister of Agriculture Ivar Kirkeby-Garstad was appointed Minister of Trade.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:
Acting Secretary to the Council of State Bredo Rolsted

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Peder Ludvik Kolstad (B)
Parliamentary basis:
Minority government
Appointment reason:
Change after government crisis
Parties in the Government:
Bondepartiet (B) og Nasjonal Samling (NS)