The European Economic Area Agreement

The Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA) is the cornerstone of relations between Norway and the EU. It brings together the 28 EU member states and the three EEA Efta states Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein in the internal market governed by the same basic rules.

The EU/EEA area - without UK. Credit: MFA

What the EEA Agreement covers

Under the EEA Agreement, Norway and Norwegians have the same rights and obligations as other EEA countries and their citizens when it comes to trade, investments, banking and insurance, and buying and selling services. They also have the same right to work, study and live in other countries in the EEA.

Fri flyt av varer og tjenester er en del viktig del av EØS-avtalen

Brief history about the EEA

The EEA Agreement ensures that Norway takes part in the EU Single Market with access to the benefits of the free movements of persons, goods, services and capital. It entered into force in 1994.

EEA institutions and bodies

The EFTA states and the EU make up the two pillars of the EEA cooperation. For this reason, the institutional framework for the EEA Agreement is often described as having a two-pillar structure.

Related topics and insights

What's new


Ten facts about the EEA

The European Economic Area – binding together the EU and Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein

Norway and the EU - Partners for Europe

Norway shares a common set of values with the EU and its member states, and we are working together to find joint solutions to common challenges.


Section for EEA Affairs

Address: Postboks 8114 Dep., 0032 Oslo
Visitor address: 7. juniplassen 1 / Victoria Terrasse 7,