Odvar Nordli's Government

15. January 1976–4. February 1981

Labour Party (A)

Odvar Nordli’s Government was appointed by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 14 January 1976, effective as of 15 January 1976 at 12 noon. It succeded Trygve Bratteli’s Second Government, as the Labour Party wanted to change prime minister.

In a session of the Council of State on 4 February 1981, Odvar Nordli’s Government handed in its resignation, as Prime Minister Nordli wanted to leave due to health reasons. Permission to leave was granted by King Olav V in the same session of the Council of State, effective as of 4 February 1981 at 12 noon. At the same time, Gro Harlem Brundtland’s First Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:
Director General Dag Berggrav

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Odvar Nordli (A)
Parliamentary basis:
Minority government
Parties in the Government:
Arbeiderpartiet (A)