Per Borten's Government

12. October 1965–17. March 1971

Centre Party (Sp), Conservative Party (H), Liberal Party (V) and Christian Democratic Party (KrF)

Per Borten’s Government was appointed by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 12 October 1965, effective as of the same day at 12 noon. It succeded Einar Gerhardsen’s Fourth Goverment, after general elections on 13 September 1965 had rendered a majority in the Storting for a change of government.

In a session of the Council of State on 2 March 1971, Per Borten's Government handed in its resignation, due to internal disagreement in the Government on Norway's relations to the European Communities (EC). Permission to leave was granted by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 16 March 1971, effective as of 17 March 1971 at 12 noon. At the same time, Trygve Bratteli's First Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Per Borten (Sp)
Parliamentary basis:
Majority government
Appointment reason:
Change after general elections
Resignation reason:
Change after government crisis
Parties in the Government:
Høyre (H), Kristelig Folkeparti (KrF), Senterpartiet (Sp) og Venstre (V)