Trygve Bratteli's Second Government

16. October 1973–15. January 1976

Labour Party (A)

Trygve Bratteli’s Second Government was appointed by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 15 October 1973, effective as of 16 October 1973 at 12 noon. It succeded Lars Korvald’s Government, after general elections on 10 September 1973 had rendered a majority in the Storting for a change of government.

In a session of the Council of State on 9 January 1976, Trygve Bratteli's Second Government handed in its resignation, as the Labour Party wanted to change prime minister. Permission to leave was granted by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 14 January 1976, effective as of 15 January 1976 at 12 noon. At the same time, Odvar Nordli's Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:
Director General Finn Midtskaug, until 1 September 1974
Director General Dag Berggrav, from 1 September 1974

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Trygve Bratteli (A)
Parliamentary basis:
Minority government
Appointment reason:
Change after general elections
Parties in the Government:
Arbeiderpartiet (A)