Einar Gerhardsen's Seond Government

5. November 1945–19. November 1951

Labour Party (A)

Einar Gerhardsen’s Second Government was appointed by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 1 November 1945, effective as of 5 November 1945 at 12 noon. It succeded Einar Gerhardsen’s First Government, after general elections on 8 October 1945 had rendered a Labour Party majority in the Storting.

In an audience with King Haakon VII on 13 November 1951, Prime Minister Einar Gerhardsen handed in the resignation of his Government, as he wanted to leave the post for personal reasons. Permission to leave was granted by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 16 November 1951, effective as of 19 November 1945 at 12 noon. At the same time, Oscar Torp's Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:
Secretary to the Council of State Leif M. Østern

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Einar Gerhardsen (A)
Parliamentary basis:
Majority government
Appointment reason:
Change after general elections
Parties in the Government:
Arbeiderpartiet (A)