Einar Gerhardsen's Third Government

22. January 1955–28. August 1963

Labour Party (A)

Einar Gerhardsen’s Third Government was appointed by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 21 January 1955, effective as of 22 January 1955 at 12 noon. It succeded Oscar Torp’s Government, as the Labour Party wanted to change prime minister.

In an audience with King Olav V on 24 August 1963, Prime Minister Einar Gerhardsen handed in the resignation of his Government, following a vote of no confidence in the Storting after a mine accident at Kings Bay in Spitsbergen. Permission to leave was granted by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 28 august 1963, effective as of 12 noon the same day. At the same time, John Lyng's Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:
Secretary to the Council of State Leif M. Østern

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Einar Gerhardsen (A)
Parliamentary basis:
One-party government
Resignation reason:
Change after government crisis
Parties in the Government:
Arbeiderpartiet (A)