Lars Korvald's Government

18. October 1972–16. October 1973

Christian Democratic Partty (KrF), Liberal Party (V) and Centre Party (Sp)

Lars Korvald’s Government was appointed by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 17 October 1972, effective as of 18 October 1972 at 12 noon. It succeded Trygve Bratteli’s First Government, as this Government on 25 September 1972 had lost a referendum on Norway joining the European Communities (EC).

In a session of the Council of State on 12 October 1973, Lars Korvald's Government handed in its resignation, after general elections on 10 September 1973 had rendered a majority in the Storting for a change of government. Permission to leave was granted by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 15 October 1973, effective as of 16 October 1973 at 12 noon. At the same time, Trygve Bratteli's Second Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:
Director General Finn Midtskaug

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Lars Korvald (KrF)
Parliamentary basis:
Minority government
Appointment reason:
Change after government crisis
Resignation reason:
Change after general elections
Parties in the Government:
Kristelig Folkeparti (KrF), Senterpartiet (Sp) og Venstre (V)